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Fee $5.00 Each (Limit 2)

APPLICATION FOR DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

3148 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-3148

Application instructions:
1. Applicant must select the number of placards desired. (Limit of two per applicant.)

3. Physician must complete and sign the physician's section or present documentation from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

4. Application and fee ($5.00 per placard) can be mailed to the address above with a check or money order made payable to NCDMV.

  Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device

APPLICANT SECTION

PHONE NUMBER

MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE

I would like:              ONE placard $5.00 TWO placards $10.00

  Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest

APPLICANT'S NC DRIVER LICENSE / ID NUMBER APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION'S PRINTED NAME

CITY STATE

Disability parking placards and license plates are governed by the Motor Vehicle Laws of North Carolina General Statute Chapter 20, Article 2A.      

  less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest

2. Applicant must complete and sign only the applicant section.

APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVE'S SIGNATURE

STREET ADDRESS

  Uses portable oxygen 

  Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume of one second, when measured by spirometry, is 

ZIP CODE

PHYSICIAN'S SECTION

- Parent may sign for minors.

- If signing with a Power of Attorney, a certified copy must be attached or shown at the time of issuance.

Find local DMV License Plate Agencies at www.ncdot.gov/dmv

Afflicted, Disabled or Handicapped Persons.   G. S. 20-37.5 Definitions (2) "Handicapped" shall mean a person with a mobility impairment who, as

determined by a licensed physician:   (check all that apply)         

PHYSICIAN'S LICENSE NUMBER PATIENT'S PRINTED NAME

  Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by

PHYSICIAN'S SIGNATURE PHYSICIAN'S ADDRESS

  the American Heart Association

  Is totally blind or whose vision with glasses is so defective as to prevent the performance of ordinary activity for which eyesight is essential, as certified by 
  a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or the Division of Services for the Blind

PHYSICIAN'S PHONE NUMBERPHYSICIAN'S PRINTED NAME

2. Temporary Disability Parking Placard - Placard issued for 1 to 6 months and requires physician recertification upon renewal.

1. Disability Parking Placard- Placard issued for 5 years and requires physician recertification upon renewal.

Temporary placard expiration in months (circle one):     1        2        3        4        5        6

3. Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placard - Placard issued for 5 years and does not require physician recertification upon renewal.

The physician certifies that the applicant qualifies for one of the parking placards listed below: (circle one)

  Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
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Disability Parking Placards

A licensed physician certifies that the applicant is a person with an affliction, disability or handicap defined under 
G.S. 20-37.5. The Disability Parking Placard is issued for five years and requires a physician's re-certification upon 
re-issuance to continue parking in disability accessible areas. Applicants will be mailed a renewal application to be 
re-certified by their physician. Applicants may renew their Disability Parking Placard up to 90 days prior to the 
expiration date of the placard.

Temporary Disability Parking Placards

A licensed physician certifies that the applicant is a person with an affliction, disability or handicap defined under 
G.S. 20-37.5. The Temporary Disability Parking Placard is issued for a period of one to six months. If an extension 
is needed beyond the expiration date, a new application with physician's re-certification will be required. Upon 
expiration, Temporary Disability Parking Placards should be destroyed.  

Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placards

A licensed physician certifies that the applicant is a person with an affliction, disability or handicap defined under 
G.S. 20-37.5 and is of a total and permanent nature. The Total and Permanent Disability Parking Placard is issued 
for five years and does not require a physician's re-certification upon re-issuance to continue parking in disability 
accessible areas. Applicants will be mailed a renewal application. Applicants may renew their Total and 
Permanent Disability Parking Placard up to 90 days prior to the expiration date of the placard.

Parking Privileges for Handicapped Drivers and Passengers 

G. S. 20-37.6 (a) General Parking – Any vehicle that is driven by or is transporting a person who is handicapped 
and that displays a distinguishing license plate, a removable windshield placard, or a temporary removable 
windshield placard may be parked for unlimited periods in parking zones restricted as to the length of time parking 
is permitted. This provision has no application to those zones or during times in which the stopping, parking, or 
standing of all vehicles is prohibited or which are reserved for special types of vehicles. Any qualifying vehicle may 
park in spaces designated as restricted to vehicles driven by or transporting the handicapped.

Rules that govern the Parking Placard for the Afflicted, Disabled or Handicapped Person

• The placard is portable from one vehicle to another.
• Hang the placard from the rearview mirror or place on the driver’s side dash if there is no rearview mirror.
• The placard registration card must remain with each placard while in use.
• The fee is $20.00 to replace the registration card for your placard if it becomes lost.
• The fee to replace a lost/stolen placard itself is $5.00.
• Damaged placards will be replaced at no fee.
• Any organization certified by State Vocational Rehabilitation Agency that regularly transports handicapped

persons may apply. G. S. 20-37.6 (c)

www.ncdot.gov/dmv
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