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Required Documents 

(Any Document Reflecting Alteration Will Not be Accepted) 
 

Requirements are based on North Carolina General Statutes 20-7 and 20-11. 
If you are applying for a driver license, a learner’s permit or an ID card for the first time in North Carolina, you will 

need to provide proof of your full name and date of birth, your NC residence address, provide your social security 

number (SSN) or documentation indicating your legal presence in the U.S. You will need to provide proof of vehicle 

liability insurance when applying for a driver license. The insurance policy must reflect your name. 

 

Applicants under Age 18 Applying for a Driver License or Learner’s Permit: 
If you are under age 18, you must provide either a Driving Eligibility Certificate, proof of graduation from high 

school, or submit a GED. You must also provide proof of completion of a driver education course which consists of 

30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind wheel instruction.  

 

Table (1) - Proof of Age and Identity:  You must provide proof of your age and identity from the list of 

documents below.  Two forms of identification are required.  Additional documents may be required if DMV is 

unable to verify your identity. For acceptable documents for proof of a name change, see Items 9 and 12 in the 

table below.  If you are unable to provide Item 9 or Item 12, you may complete an affidavit at DMV.  Note:  The 

Division of Motor Vehicles may copy the documents presented or hold the documents for a brief period of time to 

verify authenticity.    

 DOCUMENT DETAILS 

1. Driver License or State-Issued Identification Card 

from NC or another State, Puerto Rico, a U.S. 

Territory, or a Canadian Province 

A driver license, learner’s permit or ID card that is expired 

less than 2 years.  The DL/ID or learner permit submitted 

must reflect a photo.  

 

2. Certified birth certificate issued by a government 

agency in the U.S., Puerto Rico, a U.S. territory, or 

Canada or U.S. Report of Consular Birth Abroad 

Certified true copy, no photocopies unless certified by issuing 

agency.   

3. Original Social Security Card When submitted as a form of identification, the original 

social security card is required. 

4. Tax forms that reflects your full name and full SSN W-2 or 1099  

5. Motor Vehicle Driver’s Record  Certified NC Motor Vehicle Record 

 Non-Certified NC Motor Vehicle Record 

 Certified Out-of-State Motor Vehicle Record 

6. NC school transcript/registration signed by a school 

official, or diploma or GED from an NC school, 

community college or NC university 

Driver Education Certificates, Driving Eligibility Certificates 

and report cards are not accepted as proof of identification.   

7. Valid unexpired U.S. military ID, including DD-2, 

DD-214, or U.S. Military Dependents Card, U.S. 

Veteran Universal Access Card 

Other than a DD 214, documents submitted as a form of 

identification must be valid and unexpired.  

8. Valid, unexpired Passport from any nation  When submitted as a form of identification, the passport must 

be valid and unexpired. 

9. Certified document from a Register of Deeds or 

government agency in the U.S, Puerto Rico, U.S. 

territories or Canada 

Marriage certificate, divorce decree, court document of name 

change 

10. Limited Driving Privilege issued by a NC court Cannot be expired more than 1 year 

11. Valid, unexpired documents issued by DHS/USCIS  An expired immigration document may be valid if 

accompanied by a letter from USCIS extending the expiration 

date (e.g. I-797) 

12. Court documents from U.S. jurisdiction,  Puerto 

Rico, U.S. territories or Canada 
 Divorce Decree 

 Court order for change of name or gender 

 Adoption Papers 

Table (2) - Social Security Number Requirements: To obtain a driver license, learner’s permit, or ID card, you must 

provide a Social Security Number (SSN).  If you are not eligible for a SSN, you must provide document(s) indicating 

your legal presence in the U.S.  DMV will verify your SSN with the Social Security Administration (SSA). If DMV is 

unable to verify your SSN with the SSA, you may be required to present documentation of your SSN. Documents that 

you may present as proof of SSN include: 

1. Social Security Card 5. Payroll record 

2. 1099 Tax Form 6. Social Security Document reflecting the SSN 

3. W-2 Form 7. Military Record reflecting the SSN 

4. DD-214 8. Medicaid or Medicare Card reflecting the  SSN 
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Table (3) - Proof of Residency in North Carolina: All first-time customers must show proof of their NC residence 

address.  This is in addition to showing proof of identity.  One of the two forms of your identity documents from Table 

(1) may reflect your NC residence address. You may complete an affidavit at DMV if you are unable to provide a 

document from the table below.  Documents that you may present as proof of residency that show your current NC 

address, include: 

1. Any document issued by this State or county, city,  or the 

federal government 

6. Housing lease or contract, mortgage statement, property 

or income tax statement 

2. NC Vehicle Registration Card or title 7. Preprinted financial statement  

3. NC Voter Precinct Card 8. School records 

4. Military Orders/Documents 9. NC Vehicle insurance policy 

5. Utility bill or cable bill 10. Letter from homeless shelter 

Table (4) - No Fee Voter ID Cards:  To obtain an ID card for voting purposes, you will need to prove your age, identity, 

and residency.  To prove your age and identity, it is ideal that you provide 2 forms of identification from the list of 

acceptable documents in Table (1).  If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of 

acceptable documents in Table (1), DMV will review documents that you have in your possession.  (Please see the 

Alternative Documents list below for a non-exhaustive list of possible other documents DMV examiners will consider to 

prove age and identity only for the purposes of no-fee ID cards.)  

 

Additionally, to receive a no-fee Voter ID Card you must be a registered voter or fill out and sign a voter registration 

application at the time you apply for your no-fee Voter ID.  If you are not a registered voter, DMV will assist you in 

completing your voter registration application. You will be provided a receipt for your ID card upon request.  Your ID 

card will be mailed to you.  Please consider the following when applying for a no-fee Voter ID Card: 

1. If you are no longer a legal presence customer, you must 

provide proof of your citizenship or naturalization  

4. You must be a registered voter or submit to a voter 

registration application process 

2. You must sign a declaration stating you do not have photo 

ID acceptable to vote starting in 2016, as defined under 

GS 163-166.13 

5. You must provide a valid SSN 

3. You must provide proof of NC residency or sign a 

residency affidavit (see Table 3). 

6. You must provide proof of age and identity.  This is done 

ideally by providing two (2) documents listed in Table 

(1), but the DMV will review and consider alternative 

documents such as those listed in the Alternative 

Documents List below. 

Alternative Documents List for the Purpose of Proving Age and Identity in the Application for No-Fee ID Cards: 

If you are unable to provide documents from Table (1) and are seeking a no-fee Voter ID, bring whatever documents you have 

to prove your age and identity.  Below is a non-exhaustive list of alternative documents that DMV examiners may consider in 

the context of an application for a no-fee Voter ID Card.  If you bring documents that have an expiration date listed on them, 

they must be unexpired: 

- Certificate of Adoption 

- College or Student ID 

- Concealed Handgun Permit 

- Department of Revenue Tax Document 

- Employee or Government ID 

- Extended Health Care Facility Record 

- Hunting or Fishing License 

- License to Carry Firearms 

- Life Insurance Policy 

- Medicaid/Medicare Card 

- Medical, Clinic, or Hospital Record 

- Military Dependent’s ID Card 

- Military Draft Record 

- Passport Card 

- Payment Statement or Check Stub 

- Prison ID or Inmate Record 

- Retirement Benefits Record 

- Traffic Citation or Court Record 

- U.S. Coast Guard Merchant ID Card 

- U.S. Vital Statistics Official Notification of Birth Registration  

Table (5) - No Fee ID Cards:  To obtain a no-fee ID Card, you will need to prove your age, identity, and residency.  To 

prove your age and identity, it is ideal that you provide 2 forms of identification from the list of acceptable documents 

in Table (1).  If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of acceptable documents in 

Table (1), DMV will review whatever documents that you have in your possession.  (Please see the Alternative 

Documents list above in Table (4) for a non-exhaustive list of possible other documents DMV examiners will consider to 

prove age and identity only for the purposes of no-fee ID cards.) 

 

If you are homeless, you must provide proof from the shelter where you reside.  If you are legally blind, you must 

provide proof from the American or North Carolina Council of the Blind.  You will be provided a receipt for your ID 

card upon request. Your ID card will be mailed to you.  When applying for a no-fee ID Card, please consider the 

following:  

1. You must provide proof of age and identity.  This is done 

ideally by providing two (2) documents listed in Table (1), 

but the DMV will review and consider alternative 

documents such as those listed in the Alternative 

4. You must provide proof of NC residency (see Table 3) 
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Documents List above in Table (4). 

2. You must provide a valid SSN  5. If no SSN, proof of legal presence in the U.S.  

(see Table 8) 

3. If you are formerly non-citizen, you must provide proof of 

your citizenship or naturalization  

6. You must be one of the following:  

- 70 years of age or older,  

- legally blind,  

- have a medical cancellation on your driver license, or 

- homeless 

Table (6) - ID Cards:  To obtain an ID card, you will need to provide 2 forms of identification from the list of 

acceptable documents in Table (1). If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of 

acceptable documents, DMV will review documents that you have in your possession. When your ID card is issued, you 

will be provided a receipt upon request. Your ID card will be mailed to you. 

1. Provide proof of age and identity (see Table 1) 4. Provide proof of NC residency (see Table 3) 

2. Provide a valid SSN  5. If no SSN, proof of legal presence in the U.S. 

3. If you are formerly non-citizen, you must provide proof of 

your citizenship or naturalization  

 

Table (7) – Proof of Legal Presence in the U.S.: To obtain a driver license, learner permit or an identification card, you 

will need to show proof of legal presence in the U.S. Based on your legal presence status; you may be required to 

present multiple documents.  You will also need to provide 2 forms of identification from the list of acceptable 

documents in Table (1). 

1. Permanent Resident Card (I-551) 8. Waiver Traveler/Waiver Business (WT/WB) Admission 

Stamp 

2. Machine-Readable Immigrant Visa (MRIV) with Temp I-

551 Language 

9. U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card 

3. Temporary I-551 Stamp on Passport or I-94 10. Other Documents (Non-Student) w/Alien Number 

4. I-766 Employment Authorization Card 11. I-220 B Order of Supervision w/I-766 card 

5. I-20 (F1,F2, M1, M2) Certification with I-94 

Arrival/Departure Document or Unexpired Foreign 

Passport with CBP Admission Stamp 

12. I-512L Authorization for Parole of an Alien into the U.S. 

w/supporting immigration document (I-551, I-766 or I-

94)  

6. DS2019 (J1, J2) Certification with I-94 Arrival/Departure 

Document or Unexpired Foreign Passport with CBP 

Admission Stamp 

13. Unexpired Foreign Passport w/CBP Admission Stamp 

7. I-94 Arrival/Departure Record – Electronic I-94  
Table (8) – Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA):  To obtain a driver license, learner permit or an 

identification card, you will need to show proof of legal presence in the U.S. Based on your legal presence status; you 

may be required to present multiple documents.  You will also need to provide 2 forms of identification from the list of 

acceptable documents in Table (1). 

1. Employment Authorization Document reflecting Category 

C33 

2. I-797 Notice of Action (Case type I-821) Approval 

Notice with valid “to and from” dates 

Table (9) - Proof of Insurance for Driver License:  If you are obtaining a driver license, you will need to provide proof 

of liability insurance coverage from a North Carolina-licensed insurance carrier.  Documents that you may present as 

proof of vehicle insurance include: 

1. Form DL-123 from your insurance agent 3. An insurance binder 

2. Vehicle insurance policy reflecting your name and the 

issue and expiration dates 

4. An insurance card with your name, the policy number 

and issue and expiration dates 

 


