NCDOT to Emphasize Top Five Tips during National Teen Driver Safety Week
Posted 10/17/2014 4:12:15 PM
RALEIGH – Car
crashes are the leading cause of death for 14-18 year olds in North Carolina.
In an effort to save young lives, the N.C.
Department of Transportation and the Governor’s Highway Safety Program
are partnering during National Teen Driver Safety Week, which starts Sunday, to
educate teens about the top five ways they can stay safe behind the wheel.
“Teen drivers ages 16-20 comprise just 7 percent of the
population in North Carolina, yet they accounted for 13 percent of all crashes
and 9 percent of fatal crashes last year,” said GHSP Director Don Nail. “In
order to bring those numbers down to zero, we ask parents to help emphasize our
safety messages and teens to follow the rules of the road.”
National Teen Driver Safety Week seeks to boost teen driver
safety by challenging parents to engage their teens in ongoing discussion about
critical driving practices that could prevent them from being involved in a
crash. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s “5 to Drive”
campaign addresses the five most dangerous and deadly behaviors for teen
The “5 to Drive” rules are:
Drinking and Driving.
2. Buckle Up.
Every Seat. Every Time.
It Down. One Text or Call Could Wreck It All.
Speeding Before It Stops You.
More than One Passenger at a Time.
GHSP encourages teens and their parents to visit Safety City at the N.C. State Fair in
Raleigh to learn firsthand about driving safety and interact with many of the
“5 to Drive” elements. At Safety City, fairgoers
can tour GHSP’s Breath Alcohol Testing (BAT) Mobile Unit, ride in seatbelt
convincers that simulate a crash at 5-7 mph, and see the aftermath of a
distracted driving crash.
Safety City is located
behind Dorton Arena and open each day from 9 a.m. until 7 p.m. All activities and
materials are free of charge.
In 2012, young drivers 16-20 years old were involved in
45,517 crashes in North Carolina. Young male drivers were involved in 53
percent of those crashes. Of the fatal crashes involving 16-20 year old drivers
and passengers, 60 percent were not wearing their seatbelts, which is why GHSP
reminds everyone that it is North Carolina law to buckle
up – every seat, every time.
National Teen Driver Safety Week begins Oct. 19 and runs
through Oct. 25. For more information about it and NHTSA’s “5 to Drive”
campaign, visit http://www.safercar.gov/parents/fivetodrive.htm.
View on NCDOT.gov