Internet Explorer 6 and 7 users, please note:

Our online services support modern browsers, including Internet Explorer 8 and up, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome and Apples's Apple Safari.

Your detected browser may interfere with the site's functionalty.

General Information

The Division of Motor Vehicle's Online Driving Record Request tool allows North Carolina citizens to conveniently purchase a copy of their official driving record – a true representation of the driver's history as it appears in the official DMV records

Although a North Carolina driver license or ID is not necessary to order a driving record in person or by mail, it is required for online requests.

Online payments using a Visa, MasterCard or Discover credit card or a check card are accepted. No other forms of payment are accepted for online transactions.

Note: Online driver record requests are not available to drivers whose license was issued before January 2000. Please visit a licensing agency or send your request by postal mail.

Browse the Frequently Asked Questions below for quick answers to common questions. For additional assistance, send a message or call DMV customer service at 919-715-7000 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Frequently Asked Questions

What do I need to request a driving record online? 

To request a driving record using NCDMV's Online Driving Record Request tool, you will need the following information:

  • First and last name
  • Date of birth
  • North Carolina driver license or ID card number
  • Social Security number, Individual Taxpayer Identification number or U.S. Visa number
  • A Visa, MasterCard or Discover credit card or a check card (no other forms of payment are accepted)
Where do I find the number on my driver license or identification card? 

It depends on the type of license or ID you have. NCDMV began issuing redesigned designed cards with enhanced security features in June 2015. If you have one of these cards, both your date of birth and license or identification number can be found at the top of the card, as shown.

If you have a North Carolina driver license or ID card issued before June 2015, the number is located in the upper right corner of the card. The date of birth is in the bottom left corner to the right of your picture, as shown.

What if I don't have my North Carolina driver license or ID card number? 

If you do not have your driver license or ID card number, you can request your driving record by downloading and mailing the Driver Privacy Protection Act Request Form (DL-DPPA-1) to the address on the form or you can visit your nearest driver license office.

How do I request an online driving record?  

Visit the online driving record request page, click on the yellow Start a Driving Record Request button, and follow the instructions provided.

What types of driving records are available and what are the fees? 

Two types of records are available:

  • Certified records, which cost $14 and are primarily for official use by government agencies as well as federal, state and local courts
  • Non-certified records, which cost $10 and are provided for general purposes, such as for use by insurance companies and prospective employers or for a driver’s personal records
Who may request my driving record? Why would they want the information? 

Any entity may request a driving record of an individual if it has a valid reason under the North Carolina Driver Privacy Protection Act. The entity must supply the required information necessary to conduct the search.

What does a driving record contain and what does it mean? 

A driving record ordered from NCDMV is a true representation of a driving history as it appears in the official DMV records.

The driving record contains pertinent information about the license holder, including:

  • Name, address and driver license number
  • Driver license status (i.e., valid, expired, suspended, etc.)
  • Expiration date
  • Convictions
  • Driver control actions (i.e., failure to yield, failure to give right-of-way, etc.)
  • Traffic wrecks
Who do I contact if I see an error on my driving record? 

Send a message to NCDMV's Records Division. Be sure to include your full name, address and phone number.

How will I receive my non-certified driving record? 

When ordered online, non-certified driving records are available only in PDF format. You will need a compatible PDF computer application, such as Adobe Acrobat Reader, to view and print these documents.

What Web browsers can I use to access the Online Driving Record Request tool?  

All of NCDMV's online services support modern browsers, including Internet Explorer 8 and up, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome and Apple Safari, as well as mobile browsers such as Safari, Chrome and Android.